top of page

Early Summer Day




[20190520-25 Solo Trip in Washington DC]

How much I like

moments like this;

In the shadow, enveloped by a mixture of laughter, whispers, birds' songs, distant music;

People crossing the sidewalks, in their sunglasses and hats, in their yellow summer dresses, in their sports shoes and bright shorts;

They walk, they run, they bike;

Sometimes one stops and watches,

holding a cone of pink ice cream in his hand.


A squirrel jumping around, looking for food, curious and courageous,

tilts its head and looks straight into a woman's eyes;

...Until two young boys show up, four years of age I would guess, one grasping a red lollipop, and they started chasing after the squirrel;


And I lay down on the soft bed of early summer grass;

And I look up into the sky;

I saw this giant, marvelous canvas,

Blue that is so pure and simple, yet so deep and unreachable;

Green that is so lush and detailed, with uncountable layers of shades;

Contrasting,

yet harmonious.

A light breeze carries warmth, caressing my face, and my bare feet;

Then I notice from the corner of my eye,

A black-feathered bird with a bright yellow beak is hopping around me,

as cute as this early summer day.

Comments


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page